2015 Legal Citizen of the Year Award Dinner & Benefit

Now in its 31st year, the Classroom Law Project Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the Year Award Dinner & Benefit is one of Portland’s most celebrated events within the legal, civic and business community. Each year, guests join us in honoring Oregon’s most respected civic leaders and educators, as well as to help raise critical funds for one of the nation’s premiere civic and law-related education organizations.

The Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the Year Award recognizes the late Judge Newman for his leadership in encouraging and instilling respect for civic education in Oregon. Each year, a leader is honored for his or her demonstrated commitment to the mission and principles of Classroom Law Project, including forwarding the ideals of civic education and inspiring future citizens. Classroom Law Project also honors an exemplary civic educator in Oregon with the Civic Educator of the Year Award, given to a teacher who enhances the future of our democracy by instilling in his or her students the intelligence, energy and virtue to be participating citizens.

We are proud to announce that the 2015 recipient of the Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the Year Award is Nan Waller, Presiding Judge of the Multnomah County Circuit Court. Th 2014-15 Educator of the Year Award goes to Ms. Amanda Alonso, teacher at Madison High School. This year’s Dinner & Benefit will take place on April 23, 2015 at the Sentinel Hotel in Downtown Portland, starting at 5:00 p.m.

Waller, Nan


Individual Dinner Tickets

2015 Sponsors

Sponsorship Registration

Sponsorship Package & Information 

Hon. Nan Waller
2015 Legal Citizen of the Year
 Amanda Alonso
2014-15 Civic Educator of the Year

2015 Sponsors

VIP Table Sponsors:
Garvey Schubert Barer
Nike, Inc.

Table Sponsors:
Ater Wynne LLP
Barran Liebman
Buchanan Angeli Altschul & Sullivan LLP
Buckley Law PC
Bullivant Houser Bailey PC
Columbia Bank
Dunn Carney Allen Higgins & Tongue LLP
Folawn Alterman & Richardson LLP
Harrang Long Rudnick PC
Hart Wagner LLP
IMS Capital Management, Inc.
Judge Lagesen and Judge Bushong
Judge Simon and Representative Bonamici
Lane Powell PC
Lewis & Clark Law School
Markowitz Herbold PC
McDowell Rackner & Gibson PC
NW Natural
OnPoint Community Credit Union
Oregon State Bar
Portland Public Schools
Portland State University
Ricoh Legal
Schnitzer Steel Industries, Inc.
Stoel Rives, LLP
Stoll Berne
Tonkon Torp LLP

Video Production
Melissa Powers, In-House Productions


2014    Hon. Jake Tanzer
2013    Governor Ted Kulongoski
2012    Jim Westwood
2011     Hon. Paul De Muniz
2010    Hon. Jean Kerr Maurer
2009    Marilyn R. Cover
2008    25th Anniversary of CLP
2007    Hon. Ancer L. Haggerty
2006    Hon. Susan M. Leeson
2005    Hon. David Frohnmayer
2004    Senator Ron Wyden & Senator Gordon Smith
2003    Hon. Wallace P. Carson, Jr.
2002    Vera Katz
2001    Sidney I. Lezak
2000   Hon. Edwin J. Peterson
1999    Bruce B. Samson
1998    Hon. Susan P. Graber
1997    Hon. Mark O. Hatfield
1996    Bob & Marilyn Ridgley
1995    Hon. Kristena A. LaMar
1994    Hon. Donald H. Londer
1993    Harold C. Hart
1992    Hon. W. Michael Gillette
1991    Hon. Edward Leavy
1990    Hon. Charles S. Crookham
1989    Hon. Robert E. Jones
1988    Hon. Richard L. Unis
1987    Hon. Otto J. Skopil
1986    Hon. James M. Burns
1985    Hon. Kenneth J. O’Connell
1984    Hon. A. Ted Goodwin


View photos from the 2013 Legal Citizen Dinner.

Click here to learn more about additional Classroom Law Project sponsorship opportunities.