2016 Legal Citizen of the Year Award Dinner & Benefit

The Classroom Law Project Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the 035 copyYear Award Dinner & Benefit is one of Portland’s most celebrated events within the legal, civic and business community. Each year, guests join us in honoring Oregon’s most respected civic leaders and educators, as well as to help raise critical funds for one of the nation’s premiere civic and law-related education organizations.

The Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the Year Award recognizes the late Judge Newman for his leadership in encouraging and instilling respect for civic education in Oregon. Each year, a leader is honored for his or her demonstrated commitment to the mission and principles of Classroom Law Project, including forwarding the ideals of civic education and inspiring future citizens. Classroom Law Project also honors an exemplary civic educator in Oregon with the Civic Educator of the Year Award, given to a teacher who enhances the future of our democracy by instilling in his or her students the intelligence, energy and virtue to be active citizens.

We are proud to announce that the 2016 recipient of the Jonathan U. Newman Legal Citizen of the Year Award is The Honorable Thomas A. Balmer, Chief Justice of the Oregon Supreme Court. The 2015-16 Educator of the Year is Ms. Nance Case.

2016 Sponsors

Past Legal Citizen of the Year Award Recipients

Past Civic Educator of the Year Award Recipients

2016 Sponsors


Ater Wynne LLP

Buckley Law PC

Garvey Schubert Barer

Nike, Inc.

The Standard



Chief Justice Tom Balmer & Ms. Mary Louise McClintock

Buchanan Angeli Altschul & Sullivan LLP

Bullard Law

Bullivant Houser Bailey PC

Cambia Health Solutions

Columbia Bank

Cosgrave Vergeer Kester LLP

Davis Wright Tremaine LLP

Dunn Carney Allen Higgins & Tongue LLP

Friends of Jennifer Williamson

Harrang Long Gary Rudnick PC

Hart Wagner

Holland & Knight LLP

Hon. Erin Lagesen & Hon. Stephen Bushong

Hon. Michael Simon & Hon. Suzanne Bonamici

IMS Capital

K&L Gates LLP

Lane Powell PC

Larkins Vacura

Lewis & Clark Law School

Lindsay Hart LLP

Markowitz Herbold PC

Miller Nash Graham & Dunn LLP

NW Natural

Oregon State Bar

Oregon Supreme Court

Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP

Pearl Legal Group

Perkins Coie LLP

Portland General Electric

Portland Public Schools

Portland State University

Schwabe Williamson & Wyatt PC

Stoel Rives LLP

Stoll Berne

Tonkon Torp LLP

Wyse Kadish

Wine Sponsor: Columbia Distributing

Video Production: SuperGreat Video (website)


2015    Hon. Nan Waller 2014    Hon. Jake Tanzer 2013    Governor Ted Kulongoski 2012    Jim Westwood 2011     Hon. Paul De Muniz 2010    Hon. Jean Kerr Maurer 2009    Marilyn R. Cover 2008    25th Anniversary of CLP 2007    Hon. Ancer L. Haggerty 2006    Hon. Susan M. Leeson 2005    Hon. David Frohnmayer 2004    Senator Ron Wyden & Senator Gordon Smith 2003    Hon. Wallace P. Carson, Jr. 2002    Vera Katz 2001    Sidney I. Lezak 2000   Hon. Edwin J. Peterson 1999    Bruce B. Samson 1998    Hon. Susan P. Graber 1997    Hon. Mark O. Hatfield 1996    Bob & Marilyn Ridgley 1995    Hon. Kristena A. LaMar 1994    Hon. Donald H. Londer 1993    Harold C. Hart 1992    Hon. W. Michael Gillette 1991    Hon. Edward Leavy 1990    Hon. Charles S. Crookham 1989    Hon. Robert E. Jones 1988    Hon. Richard L. Unis 1987    Hon. Otto J. Skopil 1986    Hon. James M. Burns 1985    Hon. Kenneth J. O’Connell 1984    Hon. A. Ted Goodwin _____________________